Sifting sands are interlaced

souls like grains innumerable

good and bad, light and dark

transcribed by fire to glass are we

.

the human family

.

and yet we see not

that hidden before our eyes

the hardened sands deceive

see what we wish to see

.

that I am right

and I am right

and I am right

and you are wrong

.

deceived by good intent

we see them not

we know them not

deceived by good intent

.

And so the master,

of all and all is he

hath said, to us

we are the grains,

.

transcribed by fire to glass

bound together as family

imperfect? yes

together, in imperfectness

.

forgive and forgive

forget and forget

seven times seven hundred

and then some

.

can I say I am the pure grain

and that you are the impure?

Shall I shatter the glass that was forged?

to judge which grain you are?

.

because in the glass is reflected clearly

.

that I am right

and I am right

and you are wrong.

.

And so in righteous fury

to assure that all see clearly

I shatter that which has been made

by holy hands and cleansing fire

.

and with its breaking

my vision is lost

for I have shattered family.

within that reflection, was me

.

and from the shards I bleed

hold aloft that grain of sand,

the impurity within the glass?

to shout to all the world that I was right

and I was right

.

can you not see that I am right?

.

and upon my hands,

the shards remain

still cutting

and I am sorrow

and I try,

how I try…

to put it back together.

but withhold forgiveness of that mote

.
In my eye there is no beam

.
so say I, it MUST repent!

or this cannot mend

.

I will not forgive and forgive

nor will I forget and forget

not once nor twice

til all acknowledge

.

that I was right

and I was right

and I was right

and you were wrong

.

and so it feels like poison

the helplessness

the powerlessness

the shame

.

I am free

and I have chosen

yet the poison still remains

the lie still remains

.

and so the Master

with fire and light and truth

forges on and purifies

the glass, the human family

.

the crystal lattice in beauty grows

as child bears child

the family grows

family grows

.

yet one thing remains

that one poor grain

it was I

it was I

.

can you forgive me?

tho’ I would not forgive?

will you forgive me?

tho’ I cannot forgive?

.

the poison is bitter

and I am imperfect

who will drink this cup?

.

the answer is clear

.

dear sister, dear brother

forgiveness is there

and He has drunk that bitter cup

He has drunk that bitter cup

.

within His holy house

the light, through crystal shines

on each wall the glass reflect

from eternity

to eternity

.

the Human Family